Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist announced

11 novelists are longlisted for this year's Miles Franklin Award, presented annually and named after the author of 'My Brilliant Career'.

Eleven writers have been longlisted for what is arguably Australia’s most prestigious literary prize, the Miles Franklin Award.

First presented in 1957 and established by Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin, the feminist author of My Brilliant Career, the award is presented annually to ‘a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases’.

The winner receives $60,000, with the award itself being administered by the trustee, Perpetual.

Unlock Padlock Icon

Unlock this content?

Access this content and more

Richard Watts is ArtsHub's National Performing Arts Editor; he also presents the weekly program SmartArts on Three Triple R FM, and serves as the Chair of La Mama Theatre's volunteer Committee of Management. Richard is a life member of the Melbourne Queer Film Festival, and was awarded the status of Melbourne Fringe Living Legend in 2017. In 2020 he was awarded the Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards' Facilitator's Prize. Most recently, Richard was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Green Room Awards Association in June 2021. Follow him on Twitter: @richardthewatts