Sidney Myer Award winners announced

Winners of the Sidney Myer Award have been announced at the home of Sidney and Merlyn Myer including Barrie Kosky and ArtsHub's Richard Watts.

The annual Sidney Myer performing arts awards were announced at Cranlana, the former home of Sidney and Merlyn Myer in Toorak, coinciding with the house’s 100-year anniversary on 11 March 2020.

The Individual Award (worth $60,000) was given to director Barrie Kosky. His career spans opera (he was voted ‘Opera Director of the Year’ at the 2014 International Opera Awards), theatre and also include a stint as Artistic Director of the 1996 Adelaide. His most recent work The Magic Flute with Komische Oper Berlin has toured more than three continents including a season in Adelaide in 2019. Although now based in Berlin, Kosky still values his connection to his home.

Unlock Padlock Icon

Like this content?

Become a Member and unlock unlimited Access today

George Dunford is Director of Content at ArtsHub and Screenhub. He has written for Meanjin, The Big Issue, Lonely Planet, The Good Food Guide and others. He has worked in digital leadership roles in the cultural sector for more than 10 years including at the National Library of Australia, National Museum of Australia and the Wheeler Centre. You can follow him on Twitter: @Hack_packer