Applause: Latest funding and awards announced

AACTA's Reg Grundy Award celebrates Australian screenwriters, women dominate performance category at Art Music Awards, Shortlist for Banjo Prize announced, and more.

This year’s 10th annual Art Music Awards presented by APRA AMCOS were celebrated in a virtual ceremony, but that wasn’t the only first for the awards.

For the first time The Performance of the Year Awards was presented in two categories, featuring a show of strength by women in particular. Western Australian percussionist Louise Devenish won the Notated Music category with her program ‘Sheets of Sound’; while Sandy Evans’s Bridge of Dreams team (Sandy Evans, Shubha Mudgal, Aneesh Pradhan and Sirens Big Band) took home the inaugural Performance of the Year: Jazz/Improvised Music Award. Devenish is also winner of the Luminary Award for Western Australia.

Unlock Padlock Icon

Unlock this content?

Access this content and more

Staff writer
About the Author
To contact the ArtsHub news desk email Keep up-to-date with the latest industry news; be part of the conversation and an engaged arts community by following ArtsHub on Facebook, Twitter, Linkedin, Pinterest,Tumblr