Nominate your champion of private giving

Set aside some time and nominate the important person in your life who helps you make great art happen.
Nominate your champion of private giving

2018 Creative Partnerships Awards recipients. Image supplied.

The Creative Partnerships Awards are an annual celebration of philanthropy and private giving in the arts – without which, a lot of art wouldn’t happen. That’s something worth toasting, especially given the value of private contributions in the arts in the face of historically low levels of government funding.

Nominations for the awards are now open and close 26 April, at 5pm AEST 2019.

‘I love reading through all of the nominations because there are just so many people doing really amazing things. For me, I get to read them all and I just love seeing the range of art being made but also the range of people who are supporting those things. There’s some real dedication in there that’s great to see,’ said Creative Partnerships Australia CEO Fiona Menzies.

The individuals behind these donations, fundraising, and partnerships don’t often receive recognition for their efforts. The Creative Partnerships Awards looks to rectify this, helping a culture of giving to the arts grow by celebrating it. 

‘Recognising best practice is an important way of being able to improve individually, but also as a whole sector. I think there is a recognition of best practice, but also of just celebrating those people who are doing really amazing things as well,’ said Menzies.

‘The more public recognition [giving to the arts] has, the better it will be for everybody because it helps recognise it as a positive thing to do, and a valuable contribution to the community.

‘More often than not, the donors are doing it purely for the celebration of great art, but also because they recognise the role that the arts play in our society in terms of putting a spotlight on difficult ideas … and also how the arts contribute to social cohesion and wellbeing by creating community,’ she continued.

How to nominate

Those who work closely with one of the champions of private giving (without whom you wouldn’t necessarily be able to make great art) are encouraged to nominate.

Nominate here.

‘The nomination process is really simple and short. It’s not onerous, and people shouldn’t be put off by thinking that it will be,’ said Menzies.

The awards are open to individuals from all Australian states and territories showing leadership in private giving, philanthropy and partnerships across the fields of arts, philanthropy and business. 

Nominees must:

  • Be actively involved in developing private giving to the arts, through philanthropy, partnerships or sponsorships.
  • Promote the value of supporting the arts to the broader community.
  • Demonstrate an ongoing commitment to a strong, sustainable future for Australia’s cultural sector.

The awards aren’t just about recognising the big gifts. Award categories include Arts Leadership, Business Leadership, Emerging Philanthropy Leadership, and Philanthropy Leadership – with the emphasis on leadership testifying to the awards’ focus on the kind of advocacy and dedication the Creative Partnership Awards seek to recognise. Individuals can be nominated in any and all categories.

Award Categories

Arts Leadership Award 

For an individual working in the arts and cultural sector who through their advocacy and practice has promoted the private sector’s investment into Australia’s cultural life; demonstrating vision, commercial acumen and strategic thinking in their engagement with donors and business, and encouraging increased giving to the arts.  

Business Leadership Award 

For an individual working in the business sector who through their commitment and example has fostered increased investment and engagement between business and the arts. 

Emerging Philanthropy Leadership Award 

For an individual who is new to the philanthropic sector (within the last five years) and whose contribution to the arts is shaping the future of philanthropy and private giving in Australia’s cultural sector. 

Philanthropy Leadership Award 

For an individual, family, group or foundation that through their sustained contribution to the arts has inspired increased philanthropic giving and made a significant impact on Australia’s cultural sector.

Nominations close 26 April at 5pm AEST 2019. To nominate, visit

Brooke Boland

Wednesday 3 April, 2019

About the author

Brooke Boland is a freelance writer based on the South Coast of NSW. She has a PhD in literature from the University of NSW. You can find her on Instagram @southcoastwriter.