Japanese Literature awards split between generations

This year Japan's two highest literary honours were given to the oldest and youngest recipients.
[This is archived content and may not display in the originally intended format.]

This year Japan’s highest awards for literature, were received by winners spanning three different generations, with their novels covering a variety of genres.

Natsuko Kuroda, aged 75 is the oldest person to win an Akutagawa Prize in the prestigious award’s nearly 80-year history, for her novel ab Sango, which shares the life of a child as their relationship with a parent crumbles. The book was written horizontally as opposed to the traditional vertical Japanese text. Kuroda was overjoyed when it was announced saying, ‘Thank you for discovering me while I am still alive.’

Unlock Padlock Icon

Unlock this content?

Access this content and more

About the Author
ArtsHub is your source for arts sector news and jobs. You can support our work by joining us. Find out more about membership.