Archibald Prize now more collectable, as stamps

Australia Post released three collectable artwork stamps celebrating the Archibald’s 100 year history.

While physical artworks may not be able to travel this year, three Archibald-winning portraits by William Dobell (1899 – 1970), William Dargie (1912 – 2003) and Del Kathryn Barton will be making their way far and wide as postage stamps – a partnership between Australia Post and the Art Gallery of NSW (AGNSW) for its centenary year.

Selected from over 6,000 finalist works over the Archibald’s historic running since 1921, ‘the commemorative stamp issue is a wonderful way to share some of the key moments of the Archibald Prize and prominently celebrate the work of visual artists,’ said AGNSW Director Dr Michael Brand.

Unlock Padlock Icon

Unlock this content?

Access this content and more

Celina Lei is an arts writer and editor at ArtsHub. She acquired her M.A in Art, Law and Business in New York with a B.A. in Art History and Philosophy from the University of Melbourne. She has previously worked across global art hubs in Beijing, Hong Kong and New York in both the commercial art sector and art criticism. She took part in drafting NAVA’s revised Code of Practice - Art Fairs and was the project manager of ArtsHub’s diverse writers initiative, Amplify Collective. Celina is based in Naarm/Melbourne.