Winners of the 2019 PM’s Literary Awards announced

This year's Prime Minister's Literary Awards include the tale of an Australian artists' community in Greece and a study of the Bible's influence in Australia.

Gail Jones has won the Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Fiction for her novel The Death of Noah Glass in a year that included some surprising choices and omissions. Judges praised The Death of Noah Glass as ‘a highly accomplished novel about the unknowability of others, even those closest to us, and the consolations of art, by an author of distinctive and fully matured style.’

Jones won out over Melissa Lucashenko’s Too Much Lip, which scored the 2019 Miles Franklin and would have been a significant win for an Indigenous fiction. First prize is $80,000 – enough to set up a writer for work on a new project – while shortlisted writers receive $5,000 each.

Unlock Padlock Icon

Like this content?

Become a Member and unlock unlimited Access today

George Dunford is Director of Content at ArtsHub and Screenhub. He has written for Meanjin, The Big Issue, Lonely Planet, The Good Food Guide and others. He has worked in digital leadership roles in the cultural sector for more than 10 years including at the National Library of Australia, National Museum of Australia and the Wheeler Centre. You can follow him on Twitter: @Hack_packer