ARA Historical Novel Prize now the richest genre-based prize for literature

Diversity in historical fiction is honoured with prize money doubling for the inaugural ARA Historical Novel Prize.

The Historical Novel Society Australasia (HNSA), in partnership with ARA Group, have announced the longlist for this year’s inaugural ARA Historical Novel Prize is now worth $60,000. The overall prize winner will receive $50,000, with an additional $5,000 to be awarded to each of the remaining two shortlisted authors. 

The 2020 longlisted titles and authors are: Damascus by Christos Tsiolkas (Allen & Unwin Australia); Master of My Fate by Sienna Brown (Penguin Books Australia); Bodies of Men by Nigel Featherstone (Hachette Australia); The Yield by Tara June Winch (Penguin Books Australia); Shepherd by Catherine Jinks (Text Publishing); Stone Sky Gold Mountain by Mirandi Riwoe (University of Queensland Press); The Electric Hotel by Dominic Smith (Allen & Unwin Australia), and The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams (Affirm Press).

Unlock Padlock Icon

Unlock this content?

Access this content and more

Andrea Simpson
About the Author
Andrea Simpson is a freelance contributor and former Feature Writer and the Reviews Editor for ArtsHub. Andrea is a Filipina-Australian writer, editor, and content creator with a love for diverse Australian stories. She is curious about all forms of art, though she has an especially keen interest in Australia's publishing sector. Her feature writing has appeared in Inside Small Business. Andrea is an Assoc. member of Editors Victoria (IPEd.). Her short stories have been published in Visible Ink Anthology 27: Petrichor (2015), and Frayed Anthology (2015). You can find Andrea’s poetry in What Emerges (2013) poetry selected by Ania Walwicz.