Who was awarded 2020 Australia Day honours?

Wesley Enoch, Rachel Griffiths and Tim Minchin are among those honoured on Australia Day for their contributions to the arts.

The arts heard several gongs sound on Australia Day with many of those honoured using the opportunity to reflect on the purpose of the day and the importance of storytelling in the national identity.

Sydney Festival Director Wesley Enoch was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his long career in theatre. A Noonuccal Nuugi man, Enoch was previously Artistic Director at Kooemba Jdarra Indigenous Performing Arts, Artistic Director at Ilbijerri Aboriginal Torres Strait Islander Theatre Co-operative, and Artistic Director at Queensland Theatre Company before taking on his current role at Sydney Festival.

Unlock Padlock Icon

Like this content?

Become a Member and unlock unlimited Access today

George Dunford is Director of Content at ArtsHub and Screenhub. He has written for Meanjin, The Big Issue, Lonely Planet, The Good Food Guide and others. He has worked in digital leadership roles in the cultural sector for more than 10 years including at the National Library of Australia, National Museum of Australia and the Wheeler Centre. You can follow him on Twitter: @Hack_packer