City of Maribyrnong

Maribyrnong City Council provides 80 different services to over 69,000 residents and 5,000 businesses.

The City of Maribyrnong was created on 15 December 1994, when the City of Footscray merged with part of the City of Sunshine. The City of Maribyrnong is 31.2 sq km in area and has a population of over 69,825 (30 June 2008). It the smallest and most densely populated municipality in the metropolitan area. The City of Maribyrnong borders Melbourne, which is Australia’s second largest city and Victoria’s capital city. This central location provides easy access to all the benefits of Melbourne, such as the ports, the best road network in Australia and an extensive public transport system.

We are made up of the suburbs of Braybrook (3019), Footscray (3011), Kingsville (3012), Maidstone (3012), Maribyrnong (3032), Seddon (3011), Tottenham (3012), West Footscray (3012), and Yarraville (3013). The City of Maribyrnong is 10 minutes from the heart of Melbourne.

Unlock Padlock Icon

Support us to keep providing
Arts news and jobs

Become a member and unlock access to jobs and all premium articles and news content