Nillumbik Shire Council

Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Writing 2022 (Short Story and Poetry)

$5,000 for best short story and best poem, plus prizes for 'youth' and 'local' categories.


Opportunity Details

Closing Date

Nov 7, 2021




Poetry And Spoken Word

Entries are now open for the Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing 2022. Short story writers and poets from across Australia are invited to enter the ‘Open’ category, with other prizes to be awarded to ‘Local’ and ‘Youth’ writers. 

The biennial Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing is presented by Nillumbik Shire Council with a total prize pool of $18,000. It includes a short story category which incorporates the prestigious Alan Marshall Award, along with a second genre (which changes with each iteration) which will be Poetry in 2022.

$5,000 will be awarded to the best short story and the best poem in the ‘Open’ category.

The judges for the Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing 2022 (Short Story) are Bec Kavanagh and Tim Richards. Judges for the Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing 2022 (Poetry) are Tony Birch and Cassandra Atherton.

Key dates
• Entries are open now
• Entries close Sunday 7th November 2021
• Shortlist will be announced February 2022
• Winners will be announced June 2022

Entry fee: $25 (Free for local and youth writers. Local writers will be considered for the ‘Open’ prize)

For full details on how to enter visit

Unlock Padlock Icon

Support us to keep providing
Arts news and jobs

Become a member and unlock access to jobs and all premium articles and news content