Winners of 2019 Australian Book Industry Awards announced

The ABIAs saw Trent Dalton receiving several awards and a win for diverse books.
[This is archived content and may not display in the originally intended format.]

Trent Dalton scored four awards for Boy Swallows Universe. Image by Lyndon Mechielsen.

The Australian Book Industry Association Awards were announced in a ceremony at Sydney Writers Festival with Trent Dalton’s Boy Swallows Universe scooping the pool. In a record breaking run of four awards, Dalton’s novel was named both Book of the Year and Literary Book of the Year, also receiving The Matt Richell Award for New Writer of the Year. The audio book narrated by Stig Wemyss got the gong for Audio Book of the Year.

Unlock Padlock Icon

Like this content?

Become a Member and unlock unlimited Access today

George Dunford is Director of Content at ArtsHub and Screenhub. He has written for Meanjin, The Big Issue, Lonely Planet, The Good Food Guide and others. He has worked in digital leadership roles in the cultural sector for more than 10 years including at the National Library of Australia, National Museum of Australia and the Wheeler Centre. You can follow him on Twitter: @Hack_packer

Unlock Padlock Icon

Support us to keep providing
Arts news and jobs

Become a member and unlock access to jobs and all premium articles and news content