Eight new dance commissions compete for $50,000 Keir Award

The biennial Keir Choreographic Award is dedicated to the commissioning of new choreographic work and promoting innovative, experimental and cross-artform practice in contemporary dance.

Eight artists and collectives – including Lewis Major, a proud Bungandidj artist with a background in sheep farming and a foreground in experimental dance theatre, and the small-to-medium Gold Coast company The Farm – have been shortlisted for the fourth edition of the biennial Keir Choreographic Award.

Co-presented by the Keir Foundation, Dancehouse, Carriageworks and the Australia Council for the Arts, the winner of the $50,000 cash prize will be chosen by a jury of five internationally renowned contemporary dance leaders.  

Unlock Padlock Icon

Like this content?

Become a Member and unlock unlimited Access today

Richard Watts is ArtsHub's National Performing Arts Editor; he also presents the weekly program SmartArts on Three Triple R FM, and serves as the Chair of La Mama Theatre's volunteer Committee of Management. Richard is a life member of the Melbourne Queer Film Festival, and was awarded the status of Melbourne Fringe Living Legend in 2017. In 2020 he was awarded the Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards' Facilitator's Prize. Most recently, Richard was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Green Room Awards Association in June 2021. Follow him on Twitter: @richardthewatts