Performing Arts

Ensemble Offspring

Click on any image to view slide show

About Us

Ensemble Offspring are Sydney’s musical mavericks, uniting the most innovative instrumentalists in Australia with a broad collective of collaborators to explore new ideas through living new music. Led by acclaimed percussionist Claire Edwardes, the ensemble comprises a core line-up of some of Australia’s most well-regarded musicians: Lamorna Nightingale (flute), Jason Noble (clarinet), Véronique Serret (violin), Blair Harris & Freya Schack-Arnott (cello), Bree van Reyk (percussion) and Zubin Kanga & Ben Kopp (piano). Together they champion living composers and create musical experiences that stimulate the senses and pique curiosity. Ensemble Offspring supports emerging and as-yet-unheard composers, in particular championing Australian female identifying and First Nations artists. The ensembles varied collaborations stretch artistic horizons and advance the ever-expanding landscape of new music. Since 2014 their Hatched Academy program has nurtured the next generation of Australian musicians and composers, while their First Nations Composer Program has fostered the careers of Indigenous musicians since 2017. For a decade now the groups’ Sizzle series has been experienced at local and regional bowling clubs by hundreds of people of all ages. Ensemble Offspring are winners of the 2019 Sidney Myer Performing Arts Group Award; the same year they were selected to showcase at the international music market, Classical:NEXT (Rotterdam), and were also nominated for their first ARIA Award in the Best Children’s Album category. Recent tours have taken them to Amsterdam, Berlin, Glasgow, Hong Kong and Shanghai, and they are featured regularly at Mona Foma Festival and the Sydney Festival. Committed to subverting the classical music tradition with experiential concerts of living new music across genre, place and art form, Ensemble Offspring are navigating the future with open mindedness, flexibility and joy!

Company logo
Performing Arts

0409 848 750

Email Us

Website (opens in new window)

New South Wales 2044