Writers Victoria

2020 Hazel Rowley Fellowship Opens

Applications are now open for the 2020 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship.

Now in its ninth year, the Fellowship established to commemorate the life, ideas and writing of Hazel Rowley (1951–2011) will award $15,000 to an Australian writer to support the research and development of a new biographical work.

“We are proud that we have been able to continue Hazel’s legacy by promoting biography writing. We are thrilled when we see those proposals supported by the Fellowship being published,” said Della Rowley, Hazel’s sister. “It’s exciting that some of those books include first time authors from among its winners and runners up.”

Inaugural winner Mary Hoban, whose biography An Unconventional Wife: The Life of Julia Sorell Arnold was published this year, said, “Quite simply, the Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was the difference between my writing this biography or not.”

Maxine Beneba Clarke, the 2014 Fellowship recipient, said, “Winning the Hazel Rowley Fellowship provided valuable time, space and resources for me to work on my memoir, The Hate Race, at a crucial time in my writing career.”

The Fellowship, which is administered by Writers Victoria, is open to Australian writers of biography or writers working on an aspect of cultural or social history compatible with Hazel’s own interests (see www.hazelrowley.com). The Fellowship encourages writers to immerse themselves in their subject’s life and culture. It may be used to fund research or travel, to develop a new proposal or progress a manuscript for submission to potential publishers.

“It is a fantastic achievement for the Fellowship to be associated with so many published or soon-to-be published works in its short history,” says Angela Savage, Director of Writers Victoria.

Among the Fellowship’s previous runners up, Loretta Smith’s A Spanner in the Works: The Extraordinary Story of Alice Anderson and Australia’s First All-girl Garage and Michelle Scott Tucker’s Elizabeth MacArthur: A Life at the Edge of the World were also published in 2019.

The 2020 Fellowship will be judged by Jenny Hocking, Jeff Sparrow, Della Rowley and Lynn Buchanan.

Applicants can apply online at Writers Victoria until the closing date, 16 November 2019: https://writersvictoria.org.au/calendars/opportunities-competitions/2020-hazel-rowley-fellowship

About Hazel Rowley

Before her untimely death in 2011, Hazel wrote four critically acclaimed biographies: Christina Stead: A Biography (1993), Richard Wright: The Life and Times (2001), Tête-à-Tête: The Lives and Loves of Simone de Beauvoir and Jean-Paul Sartre (2005) and Franklin and Eleanor: An Extraordinary Marriage (2010). Erudite and accessible, these studies brought fresh attention to the lives and works of significant figures both nationally and internationally.

“My books are about people who had the courage to break out of their confined world and help others to do the same,” she said.

Writers Victoria Level 3, The Wheeler Centre, 176 Little Lonsdale St, Melbourne VIC 3000
ABN 18 268 487 576 | ASN A0019533Z

Applications close
16 Nov 2019
Amount Upon Application
Writing & Publishing
Grant Type
Skills development
Applicant Type
Writers Victoria (opens in new window)
Deanne Sheldon-Collins
03 9094 7855