National Library of Australia

2022 Summer Scholarships

The National Library of Australia Summer Scholarships program supports PhD students who require access to the Library’s collections to assist their postgraduate research.

These scholarships are made possible through the generosity of the family of the late Norman McCann (a former National Library Council Member), John and Heather Seymour, Carol Moya Mills (former Charles Sturt University Librarian), Emeritus Professor Janice Reid AC (a former National Library Council Member) and a generous Library Patron.

Up to six scholarships are available:

  • Two Norman McCann Scholarships for research into Australian history, Australian literature, librarianship, archives administration, or museum studies
  • The Seymour Scholarship for biographical research
  • The Carol Moya Mills Scholarship, for research on any subject, for a scholar from regional or rural Australia
  • The Nangaypa Rirraliny Scholarship, for research on any subject, for Indigenous scholars
  • The National Library of Australia Scholarship, for research on any subject, with preference given to Indigenous scholars

Scholars spend six weeks at the Library, from 10 January to 18 February 2022, and receive:

  • $6000 for use as a stipend, travel and accommodation support
  • special and supported access to collections
  • access to the Fellows room, with full office facilities and a personal workstation


The scholarships are open to students who:

  • have commenced PhD study, and
  • are Australian citizens or permanent residents.

In addition to the above:

  • applicants for the Norman McCann and Seymour Scholarships must be under the age of 35 at 31 December 2021.  This age limit is a condition requested by the donors.
  • applicants for the Carol Moya Mills Scholarship must be from regional or remote Australia, but no age limits apply.
  • the Nangaypa Rirraliny Scholarship is open only to Indigenous scholars and no age limits apply.
  • the National Library of Australia Scholarship is open to applicants of any age but preference is given to Indigenous scholars.

Preference for all scholarships is given to applicants who would find it difficult to access the Library’s collections (for example, due to distance from Canberra).


For further information or assistance: or 02 6262 1099. See more information on the Library's website.

Applications close
28 Jun 2021
Writing & Publishing
Grant Type
Applicant Type
Australian Capital Territory
National Library of Australia (opens in new window)
Georgia McDonald