Australia Council for the Arts

Kathleen Mitchell Award

Key dates

Applications close: Tuesday 2 February 2021 3pm AEDT (or earlier if application limit is met)

Amount: $15,000

Notification: Applicants will be notified of the outcome of their application by the end of April 2021.

Please note: Perpetual will only accept a limited number of scholarship proposals annually. Once this limit is met, no further proposals can be submitted.


About the Kathleen Mitchell Award

The Kathleen Mitchell Award is presented biennially to the author, aged 30 or under, of an outstanding novel or novella to encourage advancement in their literary career. The novel or novella must have been published or accepted for publication within the 2 years prior to the Award closing date. This can be demonstrated by the providing an ISBN or letter of confirmation from the publisher as part of your entry.

For the Kathleen Mitchell Award you may submit one entry only.

Established in 1996 by the will of the late Kathleen Adele Mitchell, the Award aims to encourage the advancement, improvement and betterment of Australian literature, and to provide emerging writers with funding to further their practice.

A list of previous recipients is available here.

Who can apply

To apply for this Award you must:

  • be aged 30 years or under at the closing date
  • have been born in Australia or the United Kingdom, or are currently Australian citizens
  • have been living in Australia for the 12 months preceding the closing date.

These are the terms established by deed of the Kathleen Mitchell Award and there are no exceptions to these requirements. To be eligible for this Award you must provide proof of your Australian citizenship or of your place of birth (e.g. birth certificate, passport). If you will have difficulty providing this, please contact Artists Services to discuss your situation.

Please note you must self-nominate for this Award.

Applications close
02 Feb 2021
Writing & Publishing
Grant Type
Early Career Artists
Youth Arts
Applicant Type
Australia Council for the Arts (opens in new window)
Australia Council for the Arts