Create NSW

New Dimensions – NSW Visual Arts (Established) Fellowship

Applications for the New Dimensions Fellowship will open at 12pm, Thursday 21 November 2019 and will close Thursday 19 December 2019 at 5pm AEST.


The information on this page is a guide only. We recommend reading the full guidelines before completing your application.

Download the New Dimensions – NSW Visual Arts (Established) Fellowship guidelines here.

Last updated 20/11/2019.

Apply now

To apply for funding you will need to complete and submit the relevant application form through our secure online grants system, SmartyGrants.


New Dimensions is delivered in partnership with the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia to support the ongoing professional practice of visual arts practitioners in NSW.

An established artist will:


  • undertake a self-directed professional development program or a significant opportunity to support their personal creative practice and career advancement.
  • work with the MCA to develop a project appropriate to their practice. This may involve the commissioning of a new project or work (including in the areas of performance, online and other ephemeral practices) either for the MCA Collection, for presentation in the MCA building, as part of an external MCA program such as C3West, or as part of MCA learning and public programs; or it may take the form of a residency or other MCA-related program activity. The outline of this project – including timeline for its realisation – will be developed between the artist and MCA staff after the awarding of the Fellowship and be subject to a separate agreement between the artist and the MCA.

Who can apply for funding?


You must meet the following three criteria:

1. Applicant type

You must be an:

  • Australian citizen; or
  • permanent resident; and
  • an individual/group based in NSW.

2. Arts practice

You are a practicing visual artist.

3. Career stage

You must self-identify as an established visual artist.

How much funding is available?

The successful applicant will receive $30,000 in financial support towards the Fellowship with support for an additional project or acquisition from the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia (MCA) up to the value of $20,000.

How will my application be assessed?

You must address three assessment criteria:

1. Merit

Your application should demonstrate:

  • the artistic rationale for your project/program of activities
  • the quality and reputation of any previous work

2. Impact

Your application should demonstrate:

  • where you are at in your career
  • how this fellowship opportunity will benefit you at this stage of your career

3. Viability

Your application should demonstrate:

  • effective planning and use of resources
  • realistic and accurate project budget.

When will I know if my application is successful?

All applicants will be notified of the outcome of their applications under embargo in February 2020.

Under embargo means that applicants are notified but cannot publicise the outcome until the official announcement has been made by the Minister for the Arts or Create NSW. The embargo period is taken seriously and failure to comply may impact your current or future funding eligibility.

What support is available to me?

Resources are available to assist you with your funding application. Contact a staff member if you need any advice between 9am and 5pm Monday to Friday:

Telephone: (02) 8289 6520


If you are an applicant with disability, and you require this information in a format which is accessible to you, or if you require this information in another language, you can contact us on the details above between 9am and 5pm Monday to Friday.

The National Relay service numbers are:

TTY users: Phone 133 677 then ask for (02) 8289 6520

Speak and Listen users: Phone 1300 555 727 then ask for (02) 8289 6520

Internet Relay users: Connect to NES then ask for (02) 8289 6520

Applications close
19 Dec 2019
Amount Upon Application
Visual arts
Grant Type
Early Career Artists
New work
Applicant Type
New South Wales
Create NSW (opens in new window)
Create NSW